Images and Barthes

I brought in a variety of images today, but they are all very similar. I shot the images in my home, in the kitchen, my bedroom, and my roommates bedroom. I wanted to capture the object in various settings, but in trying to do so I realized they came out pretty similar. I need to find a way to make them stand out and serve a purpose in my film. I hope to use some of them in my title sequence to introduce the object and the “characters”.   For the time being, I am collecting images and video that I know will help me get my point across in this documentary, but I am unsure of how exactly I will use them.  Once I get to editing these images and shots I hope to get a better idea of what I need and what structure I want to use.  The still and moving images I have already captured will serve as a solid starting point, and as I begin to work on it I hope to see what I want to do with the media, and what more I need to capture.  Even looking at them all together now, I have a few ideas of other photos I want to take as soon as possible.  I want to use some repetition and get shots of the same objects in different settings.

Each photo has similar denotative meanings.  The photos are all shots of iPhone chargers whether they are plugged into a phone, sitting on a nightstand, or plugged in to an outlet.  The denotative (literal) meanings are simple: they are iPhone chargers, placed inside of a home, being used, or not being used.  The connotative meanings differ slightly because while some images represent the chargers being utilized as the power source for the devices we rely so heavily on, some show the damage and misuse of these same objects.  The connotative (symbolic) meaning of these shots is that these devices are taken for granted, and we do not realize how powerful they are from a literal and technological standpoint as well as a symbolic standpoint when it comes to the effect they have in our lives.

Leave a comment